Where Were You When You First Saw Star Wars?

The original Star Wars trilogy started with “A New Hope” back in 1977. The story goes that my mom and dad saw it at the drive in a year later when I was 3 weeks old. I suspect that the force was strong with me, since I remember nothing of my first viewing, but something got me hooked early on.

star_wars_force_awakens

From there, the countless hours of lightsabers, Darth Vader, X-Wings and more as a kid made some strong bonds with friends that last until this day. I never did see any of the originals in the theatres, but I’m pretty sure I saw it every time it was on TV and I remember the day I bought my first copy of the trilogy on VHS (look it up kids). This was the “restored” one, not the updated one where Han shoots second (though that comes later 8^D).

Oh, did I mention how I actually took out the Death Star using nothing by my will power, a simple two button joystick, crazy piloting skills, more hours than I can recollect, and mastery of keyboard macros to pilot my ship. Technically I would have died in the subsequent explosion, because my engines had gone out as I was pulling away from the exhaust port, but I like to think that I drifted far enough away for a ship to come rescue me. 8^D

When the prequel trilogy started, it was 1999. I was well on my way into college and most of those friends from the early days were still in the area. So it wasn’t a question of IF we were going to see Star Wars, but when. That when would be 3 times opening night (midnight, 4PM, 7PM). It would also mean doing an epic camp out the week before just to buy the tickets to see the movie three times opening night. This was before “camping out” for movies was a cool thing to do (I suspect we Star Wars fans could have pioneered it). It was also before camping out got too extreme (in my opinion). The night of new friends, volleyball using toilet paper and two palm trees, battery operated blenders, and the never ending chain of extension cords and multi-prongs still comes fresh upon recollection.

Then there was opening night itself! Having dressed for the occasion (with tons of others) it turned into this crazy family reunion of sorts. I remember walking around, cheering with other people, having my picture taken with a kid or two (Darth Vader is always the coolest), and cooking some form of food on a disposable hibachi grill behind the movie theatre building (since that’s where this particular line was wrapping). It makes for great “war stories”. I was king of the world because a special woman (who would later become my wife) made the trek down for one of the showings as well.

star_wars_me_zach
Epic Friends in Epic Costumes

star_wars_me_jen_old
The Geek Gets the Princess
Today marks a new chapter in the stories to be told. The next trilogy of Star Wars movies begins with The Force Awakens. I’m excited to be going tonight to a special screening with some friends and a whole bunch of Star Wars fans. I’m doubly excited to see things again on Saturday with my family, and seeing my kids’ reaction to seeing Star Wars for the first time on the BIG screen. I’m sure we’ll be having plenty of memories and fun, and more stories for them to start making through the next batch of movies… and beyond.

What are your Star Wars stories and memories? Where were you when first saw the movies? Keep the legacy alive and share!

 

6 thoughts on “Where Were You When You First Saw Star Wars?

  1. Pretty sure I saw it on TV, with the special about all the people waiting in line over and over to see it in 1977. Not sure what year that aired. Richard Owings and Sharon Owings taped it on VHS and I may have watched it many dozens of times.

  2. I did manage to see Episode IV in theaters…multiple times. (Am I bragging? YEEEEESSSSSS!!!) In assorted Orlando theaters. We even took my grandparents once or twice. Grandpa fell asleep. But that was a thing he did. (He strangely stayed awake for all of Power Rangers: The Movie. Go fig.)

    Mom went see The Empire Strikes Back without me, because I was sick. We haven’t spoken since. I saw Return of the Jedi in a dollar theater out of sequence, and saw Empire a year or so later on TV. It’s not like everyone hadn’t spoiled the **** outta the movie at that point, so I wasn’t exactly lost. I just never got the “Luke, I am you’re father” moment everyone else did.

    I worked in a toy department prior to Episode I. I knew every character’s name by heart by the time movie premiered. Miranda has been with me for every Star Wars since.

    Saw The Force Awakens Saturday. I’ve never been pulled in so many emotional directions at once. I must see it again to properly process it. It is the second Star Wars movie I’ve seen with my daughter (a huge “Rebels”/Darth Vader fan), but it’s the first she’s been old enough to watch properly. As you know, she’s disabled and has spasticity issues. So her excitement translated into a lot of elbow shots to my neck. So, yeah, good times. I think this might be my favorite Star Wars ever.

    1. Oh man! What a story! I agree on the multiple viewings. I had my second on Saturday and I think there is more to soak in! I think the “ribbings” is a universal kid thing. I had that constantly during our viewing as well 8^D

What are your 10 bits on the matter? I want to know!

