The Intellectual and the Spiritual: Evelyn Underhill

My devotions this morning brought me to Evelyn Underhill, a woman during the early twentieth century who brought a lot to the table in developing the spiritual life.

Most notably this morning was this passage, which I think most accurately reflects the state of integration I’m trying to find wtih the various aspects of my life:

In saying this–in insisting that reason has a well-marked and necessary place in the soul’s approach to God–I am not advocating a religious intellectualism. I am well aware that it is “by love,” as the old mystic said, “God may be gotten and beheld; by thought never.” It is humility and love that are essential for successful prayer. But surely it is a mistake to suppose that these qualities cannot exist side by side with an active adn disciplined intelligence.

 

 

What are your 10 bits on the matter? I want to know!

